World Autism Awareness

“Normal people have an incredible lack of empathy. They have good emotional empathy, but they don’t have much empathy for the autistic kid who is screaming at the baseball game because he can’t stand the sensory overload. Or the autistic kid having a meltdown in the school cafeteria because there’s too much stimulation.”
– Temple Grandin.

April is World Autism Awareness Month!
Although awareness is good, action is so much better!

We live in a time where society thinks that awareness is enough, but I truly believe that when we look at Jesus in the face one day, He is not going to say: “Well done, good and faithful servant! Thank you for being aware!”

The hard work lies within the practicalities.

So, stand up. Get your hands dirty. And BE a loving voice TO and FOR the voiceless!
If you are interested in donating for the assistance of families, please head over to autismspectrum.org.au/donate.
Autism Spectrum Australia does practical work within the field, assisting parents and individuals on the spectrum with practical advice.

If you know someone with Autism: LOVE them!
Love is not a feeling.
It is a verb. An action.
The most useful thing we can do to offer support is to be practical without intimidation – think of the person you are loving and not yourself.

To every individual out there on the spectrum:
God loves you. He made you.
And when He looks at you, he does not see autism”. He sees you. And you are loved by Him.
My love and prayers go out to you today!

To every parent of a child on the spectrum: God loves you!
May His power and strength cover you and boost you into PERSEVERANCE.
Keep going. Don’t give up!
He sees your trials and victories.
And He cares.
Take care of yourself as well and surround yourself with practical supporters that will actually walk the journey with you.
My love and prayers go out to you today!

“For you formed my inward parts;
you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.
Wonderful are your works;
my soul knows it very well.
My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret,
intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
in your book were written, every one of them,
the days that were formed for me,
when as yet there was none of them.”
Psalm 139:13-16

“As pessoas normais têm uma incrível falta de empatia. Elas têm boa empatia emocional, mas não têm muita empatia pelo autista que está gritando no jogo de beisebol, porque ele não suporta a sobrecarga sensorial. Ou tendo um colapso no refeitório da escola, porque há muito estímulo.”
– Templo Grandin.

Abril é o mês da Consciência do Autismo do Mundo!
Embora a consciência seja boa, a ação é muito melhor!

Vivemos em um tempo em que a sociedade pensa que a consciência é suficiente, mas eu realmente acredito que quando olharmos para Jesus face a face um dia, Ele não vai dizer: “Bom trabalho, servo bom e fiel! Obrigado por ser CONSCIENTE!”

O trabalho duro encontra-se na praticalidade.

Então, levante-se. Suje as mãos. E seja uma VOZ de amor PARA e POR aqueles que nao tem uma voz!

Se você estiver interessado em doar para a assistência de famílias, dirija-se ao http://www.autismspectrum.org.au/donate.
Autism Spectrum Austrália faz um trabalho prático dentro do campo, ajudando pais e indivíduos no espectro com conselhos práticos.

Se você conhece alguém com autismo: AME-OS!
O amor não é um sentimento.
É um verbo. Uma ação.
A coisa mais útil que podemos fazer para oferecer apoio é praticalidade sem intimidação – pense na pessoa a quem você está amando e não em si mesmo.

Para cada indivíduo no espectro:
Deus te ama. Ele te fez.
E quando Ele olha para você, ele não vê apenas “autismo”. Ele te vê e você é amado(a) por Ele.
Meu amor e orações sao por você hoje!

Para cada pai ou mae de uma criança no espectro: Deus te ama!
Que Seu poder e força o cubram e impulsionem a PERSEVERANÇA.
Continue. Não desista!
Ele vê suas provações e vitórias.
E Ele se importa.
Cuide de si mesmo e rodeie-se de apoiantes práticos que realmente irao caminhar essa jornada com você.
Meu amor e orações sao por você hoje!

“Porque formastes as minhas partes internas;
Você me viu no ventre de minha mãe.
Eu te louvo, pois eu fui feito de forma temível e maravilhosa.
Maravilhosas são as tuas obras;
Minha alma o sabe muito bem.
Minha vida não estava escondida de você,
Quando eu estava sendo feito em segredo,
Tecido nas profundezas da terra.
Seus olhos viram minha substância não formada;
Em seu livro foram escritos, cada um deles,
Os dias que foram formados para mim,
Quando ainda não havia nenhum deles.”
Salmo 139: 13-16

Leave a Reply

