Breaking the Cycle

We are very willing to accept words of encouragement and nice little quotes of self-motivation that boost our ego for a short while and tell us we are important. Yet, when it comes to others in real life, we are poor at practically living this out in the way we relate to others.

We tend to wait around and become disappointed when nothing happens.

We don’t tend to look at others that much.
The heart of Jesus, however, is countercultural towards the self-absorbed. Jesus, in all His glory and wonder, came into earth just so that He could come after me. And you. And people.
One of His last heartfelt prayers before the cross for His disciples was about unity, community, staying present in the world and loving one another.
This prayer also applies to us.

We are a society of self-obsessive people with behaviours that spiral into a cycle of helplessness, blame shifting, ego boosting and helplessness all over again.

How do we break this cycle?

There is one thing I have found to be common ground within the wide range of studies, knowledge and understanding of the human mind: it takes people.

A large group of them.

Replicability and diversity in Psychology are key factors for defining groundbreaking research and solutions for brokenness. This, to me, sounds so familiar.
God’s design, even in Science, has never been for people to be alone.

And so, the way to break the cycle is to not so much think about this, but rather do something about it.

The more we choose to love, the more we will love.
The same applies here.

The more we choose to step out of our comfort zones in order to invest in relational living, the more we will do it.

It works like a muscle.

It keeps on growing.

It takes a person who is standing on higher ground to pull out the one who is below.
So, to conclude:

Instead of sitting and complaining constantly that you feel lonely and have nobody to count on, a good practical idea is to stand up and break the cycle.

Everybody is obsessed about themselves and their own. So, who is going to be the person to start the breaking of this bondage?

You.

The person who sees more clearly always does it.

Knowledge, in this case, is a powerful responsibility.

It all works a little bit like guided therapy.
The person who has the tools and a better understanding is always the one who starts a change.

And why am I writing this?

Just so that in case this applies or relates to you, you may now have some knowledge of what is happening and therefore have the responsibility to take small steps for action.

The reap will be worthwhile, because people are always worthwhile.

“…I pray for them. I am not praying for the world, but for those you have given me, for they are yours.  All I have is yours, and all you have is mine. And glory has come to me through them.

I will remain in the world no longer, but they are still in the world, and I am coming to you.

Holy Father, protect them by the power of  your name, the name you gave me, so that they may be one as we are one.

While I was with them, I protected them and kept them safe by  that name you gave me. None has been lost except the one doomed to destruction so that Scripture would be fulfilled.

“I am coming to you now, but I say these things while I am still in the world, so that they may have the full measure of my joy within them.  I have given them your word and the world has hated them, for they are not of the world any more than I am of the world.

My prayer is not that you take them out of the world but that you protect them from the evil one.  They are not of the world, even as I am not of it.  Sanctify them by  the truth; your word is truth.

As you sent me into the world, I have sent them into the world.  For them I sanctify myself, that they too may be truly sanctified.

“My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message,  that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me.

I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one—  I in them and you in me—so that they may be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.

“Father, I want those you have given me to be with me where I am, and to see my glory, the glory you have given me because you loved me before the creation of the world.

“Righteous Father, though the world does not know you, I know you, and they know that you have sent me.  I have made you  known to them, and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and that I myself may be in them.”

– Jesus’ prayer, in John 17:9‭-‬26, The Bible.

Estamos muito dispostos a aceitar palavras de encorajamento e pequenas citações legais de auto-motivação que aumentam o nosso ego por um tempo curto e nos faz sentir que somos importantes. No entanto, quando se trata dos outros na vida real, nós somos pobres em viver isso de forma prática na maneira como nos relacionamos com os outros.

Temos a tendência de esperar uma ação do outro e ficar desapontados quando nada acontece.

Nós não temos a tendência de olhar para os outros, na maioria das vezes.

O coração de Jesus, no entanto, é contracultural em direção à auto-obsessão. Jesus, em toda a Sua glória e maravilha, entrou na terra apenas para que Ele pudesse vir buscar a mim.

E você.

E pessoas.

Uma de suas últimas orações sinceras antes da cruz por Seus discípulos foi sobre a unidade, a comunidade, estar presente no mundo e amar uns aos outros.
Esta oração também se aplica a nós.

Somos uma sociedade de pessoas auto-obsessivas com comportamentos que espiralam em um ciclo de desamparo, transferir a culpa, aumento do ego e desamparo mais uma vez.

Como podemos quebrar este ciclo?

Há uma coisa que eu tenho entendido ser um terreno comum dentro da ampla gama de estudos, conhecimento e compreensão da mente humana: é preciso ter pessoas.

Um grande grupo de pessoas.

Replicabilidade e diversidade na Psicologia são fatores-chave para a definição de uma investigação inovadora e soluções para o homem partido. Isso, para mim, soa muito familiar.

O desígnio de Deus, mesmo na Ciência, nunca foi para que as pessoas estivessem sozinhas.

Então, o caminho para quebrar o ciclo não é pensar tanto sobre isso, mas sim fazer algo sobre isso.

Quanto mais nós escolhemos amar, mais vamos amar.

O mesmo aplica-se aqui.

Quanto mais nós escolhemos sair da nossa zona de conforto a fim de investir na vida relacional, mais vamos fazê-lo.

Isso funciona como um músculo.

Continua a crescer.

É preciso uma pessoa que está de pé em terreno mais elevado para retirar o que está abaixo.

Então, para concluir:

Ao invés de reclamar constantemente que você se sente solitário e não tem ninguém com quem contar, uma boa idéia prática é se colocar de pé e quebrar o ciclo.

Todo mundo está obcecado sobre si mesmo e seus próprios quadrados. Então, quem é que vai ser a pessoa para iniciar o rompimento desse cativeiro?

Você.

A pessoa que vê mais claramente sempre faz isso.

Conhecimento, neste caso, é uma responsabilidade poderosa.

Tudo funciona um pouco como terapia guiada.

A pessoa que tem as ferramentas e uma melhor compreensão é sempre aquela que começa uma mudança.

E porque estou escrevendo isso?

Apenas para que, caso isso se aplique ou se relacione à você, você pode agora ter algum conhecimento do que está acontecendo e, portanto, ter a responsabilidade de dar pequenos passos para a ação.
A colheita vai valer a pena, porque pessoas sempre valem à pena.

“…Eu rogo por eles. Não estou rogando pelo mundo, mas por aqueles que me deste, pois são teus. Tudo o que tenho é teu, e tudo o que tens é meu. E eu tenho sido glorificado por meio deles. Não ficarei mais no mundo, mas eles ainda estão no mundo, e eu vou para ti.

Pai santo, protege-os em teu nome, o nome que me deste, para que sejam um, assim como somos um. Enquanto estava com eles, eu os protegi e os guardei no nome que me deste. Nenhum deles se perdeu, a não ser aquele que estava destinado à perdição, para que se cumprisse a Escritura.

“Agora vou para ti, mas digo estas coisas enquanto ainda estou no mundo, para que eles tenham a plenitude da minha alegria. Dei-lhes a tua palavra, e o mundo os odiou, pois eles não são do mundo, como eu também não sou. Não rogo que os tires do mundo, mas que os protejas do Maligno. Eles não são do mundo, como eu também não sou. Santifica-os na verdade; a tua palavra é a verdade.

Assim como me enviaste ao mundo, eu os enviei ao mundo. Em favor deles eu me santifico, para que também eles sejam santificados pela verdade.

“Minha oração não é apenas por eles. Rogo também por aqueles que crerão em mim, por meio da mensagem deles, para que todos sejam um, Pai, como tu estás em mim e eu em ti. Que eles também estejam em nós, para que o mundo creia que tu me enviaste.

Dei-lhes a glória que me deste, para que eles sejam um, assim como nós somos um: eu neles e tu em mim. Que eles sejam levados à plena unidade, para que o mundo saiba que tu me enviaste, e os amaste como igualmente me amaste.

“Pai, quero que os que me deste estejam comigo onde eu estou e vejam a minha glória, a glória que me deste porque me amaste antes da criação do mundo.

“Pai justo, embora o mundo não te conheça, eu te conheço, e estes sabem que me enviaste. Eu os fiz conhecer o teu nome e continuarei a fazê-lo, a fim de que o amor que tens por mim esteja neles, e eu neles esteja”.

– A oração de Jesus, em João 17:9‭-‬26, na Bíblia.

Leave a Reply

